Das Leitbild

 I JAM therefore I AM

Die JAM MUSIC LAB University (JMLU) ist eine autonome private Musikuniversität am Standort Wien.

Das Alleinstellungsmerkmal der JMLU ist die ganzheitliche Spezialisierung auf Jazz, Popular- und Medienmusik. Mit diesem exklusiven Studienangebot in Stilfeldern jenseits der Klassik sieht sich die JMLU europaweit in einer Vorreiterrolle.

I JAM therfore I am

An der JAM MUSIC LAB Private University stehen die Studierenden und ihre Employability im Zentrum der Ausbildung. Ein hochkarätiges, international erfolgreiches Team von Lektorinnen und Lektoren sowie ein innovatives Curriculum-Setup verbinden Lehre, Praxis und Forschung. Das Institut fördert seine Studierenden gezielt am Leitfaden ihrer individuellen Begabung und in Hinblick auf einen erfolgreichen Berufseinstieg. Parallel dazu werden Studierende mittels ganzheitlicher Unterrichtskonzepte in musikalisch/künstlerischer Praxis, Pädagogik und Music Business auf die Erfordernisse des aktuellen Marktes und die Nachfrage in vorhandenen Berufsfeldern vorbereitet.

Die Universität versteht sich auch als ProduzentIn von und Vermittlerin für Musik im Dienste ihrer Studierenden. Die universitätsinterne Agentur JAM MUSIC LAB ARTISTS bietet exzellente Produkte und Dienstleistungen aus dem Bereich der Musikproduktion, des künstlerischen Schaffens und der pädagogischen Tätigkeit ihrer besten Studierenden. Der universitätsinterne Verlag JAM MUSIC LAB PRESS bietet Studierenden und Lehrenden die Möglichkeit zur Veröffentlichung ihrer künstlerischen und wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten.

Im Prozess einer sich ständig verändernden und entwickelnden (Musik)Welt orientiert sich die JMLU am Leitbild einer kommunikativen und interdisziplinär geprägten Musikausbildung, in der künstlerische Praxis, Theorie und Forschung als Einheit er- und gelebt werden und der grundsätzliche Offenheit und Interesse allem Neuen gegenüber vorausgehen.

Individualität, Internationalität und Innovation begleiten als zentrale Leitwerte die Zusammenarbeit von Studierenden und Lehrenden und eröffnen wichtige Freiräume für eine hochqualitative und zeitgemäße Entfaltung künstlerischer Praxis und fachbezogener theoretischer aber auch menschlicher Kompetenzen.

Die JMLU, ihre Studierenden und Lehrenden begrüßen individuelle und kulturelle Vielfalt unter den Studierenden und Lehrenden und schätzen sie als allgemeine Grundlagen für eine Weiterentwicklung in Kunst, Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft.

There is no reason for anything other than optimism.

John Cage

Mission & Philosophy

I JAM therefore I AM

JAM MUSIC LAB University (JMLU) is an autonomous private music university located in the city of Vienna.

JMLU's unique feature is the specialisation in jazz, popular music and media music. With its unequalled holistic approach and its exclusive range of courses in stylistic fields that reach beyond classical music, the JMLU sees itself as a pioneer in Europe.

I jam

At JAM MUSIC LAB Private University the students and their future employability are the focus of the courses. A top-class, internationally successful team of lecturers and an innovative curriculum setup merge teaching, practical engagement and research together. The students get all the support they need for their aspired goals, with specific attention to their own individual talents. With a view to ensuring that students make a successful start in their prospective careers, they are prepared by means of holistic teaching concepts in musical and artistic practice, pedagogy and music business, specifically the requirements of the current market and the demand in existing occupational fields.

The university also has the inherent understanding of its important role in the facilitation, production and mediation of music in service of the students. The agency JAM MUSIC LAB ARTISTS, located in the university, offers excellent products and services in music production, as well as the artistic creations and educational activities of their best students. Furthermore, the university-internal publisher JAM MUSIC LAB PRESS offers students and teachers alike the opportunity to publish their own artistic and scientific work.

As part of a world and musical landscape that’s constantly changing and evolving, JMLU orientates itself towards an ethos strongly rooted in the following: delivering a communicative and interdisciplinary musical learning experience; engaging with artistic practice, theory and research as an entity; and continually possessing a basic openness and interest in the new.

Individuality, internationality and innovation are always prevalent as central guiding principles in the collaboration of students and teachers. It also means that everyone is afforded the necessary open space to facilitate high-quality and up-to-date developments in artistic practice and theoretical expertise, as well as human and personal development.

JAM MUSIC LAB University, its students and teachers always welcome cultural diversity among students and teachers, which is valued as a general basis vital for further advancement in art, society, economy and science.

There is no reason for anything other than optimism.

John Cage